Adams: Harmonielehre - Edo de Waart & San Francisco Symphony

Adams: Harmonielehre - Edo de Waart & San Francisco Symphony

Edo de Waart & San Francisco Symphony

  • Genre: Classical
  • Release Date: 2007-01-23
  • Explicitness: notExplicit
  • Country: USA
  • Track Count: 3

  • ℗ 2007 Nonesuch Records, Inc., manufactured and marketed by Rhino Entertainment Company,

Adams: Harmonielehre - Edo de Waart & San Francisco Symphony Tracks

Adams: Harmonielehre - Edo de Waart & San Francisco Symphony User Reviews

  • Remarkable Work

    By ammPilot
    From the start, this is something different. Not different in a bad way, but clearly DIFFERENT. The opening chords, the rhythms, the rapid changes of time signature, accompanied by pattern, rhythm, and repetition signal both clear departure and solid grounding. This piece is not simply a collection of interesting sounds or sound sequences: it takes us on a musical journey. Throughout--and especially in the finale--the driving rhythms propel the listener inexorably forward with the music. Yet, the piece is not without its surprises, including a wonderful lyric development in the violins. Adams considers this not a "teaching" (lehre) of harmony, but as a way to show his own "learning" on the subject. To have a recording by conductor and orchestra that gave the piece its premier in March, 1985 is particularly fitting.
  • I love this

    By Moussorgsky1
    This is scored for massive orchestra, and i love the textures. The SF Symphony is always a great orchestra. not a single bad performance to their name.
  • Thee famous recording and work that catapulted Mr. Adams to Fame!

    By ClintClassic
    This is thee famous recording and work* that catapulted John Adams to the very forefront of the contemporary Classical music scene today! It has been said of Stravinsky’s: “Rite of Spring” to be “the Atomic Bomb” of all music, of the early half of the Twentieth century. I’d go on to say Adams’: “Harmonielehre” as the nuclear warhead of the later [this all coming from someone who considers Tchaikovsky the greatest of all composers –LOL!!!] While the title might translate to mean “Book of Harmony”; it is a piece that parallels the many emotions we feel “while on life’s journey” –culminating with an accent “into the light”. It is also important to note, that this piece was written after Adams’ had a terrible bout of “writers block”. I’d like to think of it as Adams’ own maturing into his art. Many would argue “Harmonielehre” to be Adams’ “First Symphony”, and “Naïve and Sentimental Music” to be his “Second” -but who are we to say. As far as sound is concerned (albeit there are much more recent accounts available), the Nonesuch early digital still holds its own. *”The Chairman Dances” arguable had had a hand in it as well. (Adam’s had discarded it from his opera “Nixon in China” to stand on its own, due to length limitations).

Albums From Edo de Waart & San Francisco Symphony